Stuart Marrs on Elliott Carter
Eight Pieces for Four Timpani
Performance and Analysis
Click to Enlarge

Elliott Carter's solo timpani works of the 1960s represent the benchmark upon whose quality all subsequent compositions of this genre have been measured. This DVD combines interactive, multi-angle video performance of the set of eight pieces with an in-depth voice-over performing artist's commentary as well as PDF articles about the works by percussion scholars.

Performance videos on Youtube

Preparation and Practice Tips on Youtube

Purchase now $49.95
Special Features
  • Languages: Voice-over artist’s commentaries in English, Spanish, and French
  • Angles:  multiple camera angles for all video or pre-edited angle fades
  • Overlays:  shows special beating spots on overhead camera angle
  • Links to sponsors
  • DVD-ROM:  Manuscripts, Articles, Program notes, Bio, TP9000 flyer (discontinued in the US), Permissions, Acknowledgements
  • Metronomes:  special customized metronomes for each metric piece of the set.

Here is what the experts say about
Stuart Marrs on Elliott Carter

Eight Pieces for Four Timpani
Performance and Analysis

"With this DVD, Stuart Marrs provides an extremely valuable research tool for both performers and composers. The performances are elegant and refined and the DVD production is absolutely first class. I have used it in percussion seminars for composers as well as in workshops on these pieces for performers. The response has been universally positive. I highly recommend this DVD as a definitive source for information on the performance techniques for, and the interpretation of, these seminal works for solo timpani."

Jan Williams
Prof. of Music, Emeritus
SUNY Buffalo
February 2006

“This DVD is perfect for anyone interested in performing or researching Elliott Carter’s Eight Pieces for Four Timpani. Stuart Marrs offers a tremendously comprehensive insight into these works. The special features included in this DVD (multiple camera angles, commentary, customized metronomes, manuscripts, articles, and other interactive items) are terrific! Bravo!”

John Tafoya
Principal Timpanist, National Symphony Orchestra
Director of Percussion Studies, University of Maryland